East Azerbaijan Province

Azerbaijan Province is one of the historical regions in northwestern Iran, dating back to the Median and Achaemenid eras. In 328 BC, Alexander the Great appointed an Achaemenid Satrap called Atropates, the ruler over territory of western Media, the satrap gave his name to the region which is called Azerbaijan today. This prominent province has played a significant role in the political destiny of Iran during the history, mainly in the Safavid era when Tabriz was the capital of this prosperous dynasty and in the Qajarid era, specifically during the constitutional revolution.  

This province covers an area of 45,651 sq. km, encompassing 12 counties, which make it the 11th largest province in the country. It is bordered by the Republic of Azerbaijan and Republic of Armenia from the north, Ardebil from the east, Zanjan and west Azerbaijan from the south, and Lake Urmia and west Azerbaijan from the west. According to 2010 census, the population of the province is 3,724,620 people comprising mainly of Azari people.

Stretching over a vast area, the Province of Azerbaijan enjoys a variety of climatic conditions and natural scenes of great variety. This province holds significant historical landmarks, two of which are listed as UNESCO Heritage Sites such as the Armenian Monastic Ensembles and Tabriz Bazaar. Azerbaijan also houses a number of waterfalls, rivers, mineral water springs and mountains. High quality handicrafts are also produced in this province, namely carpet, Kilim, leather and ceramic. 

Top Sights in East Azerbaijan Province

Top Routes in East Azerbaijan Province